2011 in Hobby Heaven

The EOY 2011 is just around the corner. It is the perfect moment to take a look back in what’s already happened in this entire year..I mean, that is what people usually do at the end of the year right?  So here’s what me and this blog had been through in 2011😀

1. Enjoying the life of toy photographer

This is the year when I finally got the chance to shot my toys using a decent camera. Sure, people always says you could still produce great pictures no matter what kind of camera you are using. I totally agree with that, because figure photography is all about creativity and ideas, but still, having a DSLR with the right lenses could really help to put those ideas into frames of pictures

This year, I’ve taken taken some pictures of my toys for various purposes like toy review, creating toy stories, or just some random shot in some random places. Most of the pictures go to my Flickr page, but those which ends up in this blog would always have a story in it😀 I guess, like how I used to be when I was a kid, I’m still excited to play with my toys ^^

2. Slow Progress in Scale Modeling

Yeah, I gotta admit that I’m not as productive as in my previous year…I gotta use my full time job as a scapegoat this time😀 Working 8 hours a day could sometimes makes me go straight to bed when I’m home. Not to mention if I have to go out of town for a business trip, that would be impossible for me to even clean some sprues in my kit…but my full time job puts the food (and toys😀 ) in my table, so it got a big sign saying “Priority” above it. In the end I have to remember that scale modeling was never a race. It is just a hobby which means I get to work on it when I have nothing else to do😀

1/35 M88A1G ‘Bergepanzer’

1/35 M4A3 Sherman

Nevertheless, I manage to finish two great kits this year, in which both generates many positive comments in scale modeling forums and the this blog’s reader😀 Thank you so much to all of you ^^

3. The Year of Urban Toys

This year, I kinda got myself shifted from the Japanese line of toys. I am being poisoned by Designer Toys or also known as Urban Toys. It was all started when I finally found a local store that sell these toys. Back then I already have interest for urban toys but it was still out of reach. Right now, I have some Android and Uglydolls in my possession. They are cute and obviously cheaper compared to Revoltech or Nendoroids😀

I don’t know whether or not this fever is still gonna last until next year, but the journey with these line of toys throughout 2011 was really fun ^^

4. A 3D Canvas Called “Munny”

Another new experience this year was the Do-It-Yourself toy platform from Kidrobot called “Munny”. A blank white vinyl toy where you have the freedom to custom it your way. This was very different from scale modeling but the fun is definitely equal😀 There are 3 Munnys that I manage to finish this year. Each with their own character, they are Munkee, Grimace, and Tribe.

As for Tribe, he is my submission in the Munny World Festival Indonesia 2011. That event is also one of the highlight in 2011. Oh, and there is one more Munny which I customized during the on-the-spot competition there but I still don’t have the time to take a studio pictures of it..well, maybe next year.  I’m pretty sure that I will have more DIY toys in 2012😀

And that is the 2011 in Hobby Heaven summary for you ^^ I think, that while a new year resolution is being made, it is also important to look back in this 1 year to see where we finally at and what we have achieved so far😀 Next year, the resolution for Hobby Heaven is that I would try to be consistent in posting at least an article every week. Writing more articles didn’t require anything other than creativity, and I wish I could be more creative in 2012😀

That is wrap for 2011, what a great year it has been.

10 thoughts on “2011 in Hobby Heaven

  1. rockleelotus says:

    Happy New Year!

    you really dived into creating those custom Munny, cant wait to see more of your works! if you ever get stumped in the writing department, just take a few pics of your projects and it will be clear you are very creative lol🙂

  2. Q says:

    First time coming over to your blog. You have quite a great variety of toys there!

    I am not skilled at doing proper modelling but I always love to see people’s works on military ones. Really love the whitewashed Sherman there in that picture~ Would look forward to see more of such work in the future!

    And last but not least Happy New Year! Let us hope 2012 is a good year for us and for our hobby!

  3. chubbybots says:

    hehe having variety is good for keeping up our toy obsessions haha. Great to see you diving in into munnies and urban toys. I also moved on from scale modelling, work is really time consuming!!

    Anyways! Have a great year ahead!!!

    • h4mster says:

      So true Man😀
      it’s a bit sad to think that by having a full time job, I got enough money to keep up with my hobby, but i got no time to have fun with them…

      Happpy New Year to you too Chubbs ^^

Leave a Reply

