In Progress>>M4A3 Sherman>>Part 6

Hello guys, today I would like to show you the update on the tank’s simple base. Yup, I decided that since the kit comes with three figure of soldier, it’ll be a huge waste if i don’t use them in a simple diorama😀 A winter camouflaged tank belongs in a winter themed diorama. Meaning that I have to learn to create snow as well as the muddy winter environment. And this is the result:

As a start, I cut a Styrofoam used for the base. I make it small enough so that the tanks would become the main thing on the diorama. I apply the soil texture to the base, and it looks like this:

If the question is how do I create the texture, well, I was trying this “Diorama Texture Paint” from Tamiya. I found it in a nearby hobby shop and figure that it is worth to try for this project

This Tamiya Diorama Texture Paint comes in various effect, there are pavement effect, soil, grass, and sand. All you have to do is just apply it using brush or spatula, and then you’ll see the texture form up immediately. Really easy :D  I choose the Dark Earth Soil texture because it is the best to represent the soil condition in winter days. However, to make it look darker, I wash it using a mixture of Red Brown and Flat Black acrylic colors:

Now if you want to change the tone of any color, the washing technique is very recommended😀 You don’t have to go all the way setting up your airbrush and clean them afterwards..perfect for lazy people like me ^^ Just use lots of thinner on the paint, and wash it to the surface that you wish to alter.

And moving on to the small number of vegetation on the base:

I got this from a toy store that sell train miniature stuffs. This is called leech. Kind a like rubber, so I just cut them in order to make it looks like a grass in the winter and put it randomly on the base😀 Next one, is the snow. This is what makes the base cold:

This is an aluminium sulfate. You can buy this at any store that sells chemical stuffs. Usually, people use it to clean water pipes. After I break this crystal rock into powders, it’ll really looks like snow. It’s crystal form also add the realism to the snow effect. It is also quite heavy so it’ll not be a problem when being exposed to small wind😀

Okay folks, that is all that I have to share in this update😀 thanks for watching😀

16 thoughts on “In Progress>>M4A3 Sherman>>Part 6

  1. chubbybots says:

    I like it that you are keeping the diorama small in proportion to your tank. If not I have seen works where the diorama’s size just draws attention away from the tank!!

  2. rockleelotus says:

    that looks really… real lol great attention to detail yet again! it looks exactly like a muddy winter patch of land. i look forward to more of your progress😀

    btw is the aluminium sulfate hazardous?

    • h4mster says:

      Thanks Man😀
      The aluminium sulfate is not hazardous, you can touch it and nothing happen to your skin…some people even say that it smella nice too😀 Just don’t eat it..it is as solid as rock LoL

Leave a Reply

