In Progress>>M4A3 Sherman>>Part 5

Part 5 of the Sherman build! This time, I’ll take you to the worn out looks of the Sherman as well as how to achieve that look😀 As I’ve mentioned on my previous post, the theme for this build is winter. The time when the battlefield is colored in white and times when the soldiers are fighting in cold blood. Here is how most of the tanks in European winter looks like:

The winter camouflage…all white in order to make the tank blends with the snow environment. In painting this model, I spray an acrylic gloss coat after I apply the decals. Since I used an acrylic color as the based color, I choose an enamel for the white color. This is to ensure that when I give some heavy weathering on the white paint, the green base color wouldn’t be damaged.

Okay, a bit history lesson. Most of the tank dispatched by the US in World War II comes in Allied green color. They don’t send a white tanks in the early times of the war because it’ll look ridiculous. Just as ridiculous as riding a green tank when you got snow all around you😀 So, with the principle of  “You can’t shoot things you cannot see”, the army is being creative and put some art on their tank. Not beautiful, but effective enough to save their lives. But they use any white paints available at that moment. And just like any cheap products, it didn’t stick forever. At the end of winter, the tank shows their true color. This  model that is in my workbench right now captures the moment when the whole transformation process is going down.

 

What happened to all the white color? well, let’s just say that the white is getting old😀 now this is how I do it.

You’ll need cotton buds and lighter fluid.

Pour the lighter fluid to the cotton bud and use it to erase the white enamel color. Since I’m using enamel for the white, it could easily be erased using a lighter fluid

And carefully make the paint scratch using pins. Make sure you don’t put too much force on this process😀

There you go, that is how I create my winter camoulage. There actually another technique like using hairspray for example, but it’s gonna create a different worn out effect😀. This is actually how I want it too look like and I’m pretty satisfied with the result. I apply this technique all over the body of my Sherman:

Till the next update folks😀

 

11 thoughts on “In Progress>>M4A3 Sherman>>Part 5

  1. chubbybots says:

    Very simple and effect technique to get the camo effect! I love that bit of history behind the camo! That is one thing very nice about doing armor, there is such a rich history of material for you to tap on!

    • h4mster says:

      Thanks, history also means many references😀 So I only push my brain to replicate something that already exist. Which is exactly the way I like it in this hobby LoL

  2. heathorn says:

    I really like the way that you take the history and put it into your scale model, the paint finish itself is already creating a diorama for your tank. Muantap bro!
    Btw, new blog theme is very soothing…..

    • h4mster says:

      Thanks heathorn😀
      yup, kinda bored with the old theme..it’s been a year with that theme anyway so I thought it is good for a fresh new look😀

Leave a Reply

