In Progress>>M4A3 Sherman>>Part 3

The Sherman is back😀 I have to postpone the progress of this Sherman since I sign up for the Modern Warfare Group Build in a local forum. Anything with deadline should always comes first😀 But now the Bergepanzer is already done, and there’s no reason not to continue this kit. There will be some changes from the original plan though…looking at the condition here, it is impossible to create a diorama for this project, so I have to drop that idea T.T as an alternative, I could have more time to deal with the details on the tank itself…I don’t know whether it’s gonna work or not, but I plan to upgrade my weathering skill with this tank.

Fortunately, the assembling process is already done before the Bergepanzer project begins😀 That will save me a lot of precious time. So, let me explain what have I done to this kit. I want to have a more brutal mud on this tank. There is this book about tank that says “Tank does not run on the ground, but it runs through the ground” . It means that a clean tank is a sissy, and it justify me to play dirty. Here’s my attempt to do so:

The mud texture on the lower hull  was made from a very simple ingredients, and those are real sand mixed with surface primer paint and a tiny bit of lacquer thinner, apply it randomly using a paint brush, and you are done😀 Because there is a Surface Primer Paint as one of the ingredient, you don’t have to spray a primer paint on it again. I apply it in various places on the lower hull, in places which I think could not escape the mud.

Then it is time for a spray of primary paint all over the tank.I use Mr Surfacer 1200 for this job. A bit expensive and I don’t know why on earth I use that brand for a military kit…

That is it for now😀 It’s really great to come back to this kit. I personally love Sherman tanks, probably because it was one of those vehicle that have won the war😀

’till the next post !

10 thoughts on “In Progress>>M4A3 Sherman>>Part 3

  1. bd77 says:

    Was wondering on how you’ve made the mud effect until you’d mention the mix.

    Tanks in the olden days are meant to fight a brutal war of attrition, nowadays, tanks hardly see each other visually in exchanging fire.

Leave a Reply

