In Progress>>M88A1G Bergepanzer>>Part 2

Another WIP post (finally)😀

In one of my previous post, I’ve mention about the difficulties to paint a kit in my new place. I’m glad to tell you that I think I have overcome the problem. Space and ventilation is a major issue here..can’t do anything about the space, but I manage to find a good spot for airbrushing. And that place is in my bathroom😀  It turns out that the exhaust fan in my bathroom is strong enough so the fume is not flying anywhere. It goes straight up to the exhaust and it goes somewhere far from my place😀

In order to celebrate my success in finding a painting spot, I decide to have a full throttle at my  M88a1G because the deadline is right around the corner. Here goes..

As usual, it all started with a primary paint. I use Mr. Surfacer 1200 for this one

Next, apply the pre-shade on the corners of the tank. The lower part of the tank receive more shadow because in the end, it will have more dust and dirt compare to the upper part of the tank. Darker colors will help me to apply those dust and dirt.

And then the base color. I use Tamiya Acrylic Flat Green. The real color is actually darker, but since this tank would still going through the oil wash process, I apply a lighter green color.

Finally, the camouflage. It is Tamiya Acrylic Flat Earth for the brown, and Flat Black for the black. I never make a multi-pattern camouflage since my first military kit project so it was pretty fun. I use a free-hand technique for the pattern, meaning that  I drew the pattern using airbrush directly to the surface without involving any masking.

So that is all😀 perhaps there will be a Sazabi in the next WIP related post😀

8 thoughts on “In Progress>>M88A1G Bergepanzer>>Part 2

  1. ren says:

    wow.. very cool. i’ve nv read a WIP for army model kits. and it has really taught me alot abt colouring! pre-shadowing and base colours.. i to shadowing was done at the very end.. the camo looks really nice too! do you use a 0.3 or 0.5 airbrush head for that? cant wait for your next wip! thanks for sharing! =)

  2. h4mster says:

    @Zoidiect
    Thanks man😀

    @RockLeeLotus
    I never thought that my bathroom could solve the problem LoL

    @Ren
    Yup, the technique is a little different than Gunpla😀 Both are fun though! I use 0.3 airbrush head for this one😀

  3. heathorn says:

    indah sekali bro!!
    what color did you use for your pre shading?
    among the 3 last pics, the last one looks a bit pale, you added a another layer of paint?

    anu…IMO sih bagusan yg kedua dan ketiga sblm terakhir bro warnanya lebih vibrant.

Leave a Reply

