Complete>>1/35 Morser ‘karl’ Gerat

Hello everyone,

This blog has been quiet for some time now, but it sure is not dead😀 So this time I would like to present you the finished version of Morser Karl Great, along with its base and crew.

For this diorama, I try to capture the moment before the shot was carried out, the crew near the ammo are chillin’ from their work loading the ammo while they are waiting for the next command, and there are three people who are discussing the coordinates in front. The actual crew of Morser is much more than this, but due to financial limit, this is as far as I can go😀

Building this beast was a total fun. This is my biggest military project so far. As for the technique that I’m using, there’s nothing new, most of the technique had already been applied in my Stug project. But in the case of the figure I use in this diorama, I did some re-position on them, cutting them, put it back together with epoxy putty and then carve it to make it look proportional. Still looks rough, but at least I know the basic…oh, and I still need to learn a lot about figure painting :p

This project was actually built for a competition on 25th of July, I already bring the kit to Jakarta where the competition is gonna be held, and all I need is to bring it to the venue on the submission date. But things have changed. It turns out that I am accepted in this company that I was applying to, and I have to go to other town immediately…There goes my first competition T_T…it’s not all sad stories though, at least I got paid for my first business trip ^^

Oh, and now I officially moved from my hometown, and I’m gonna stay in Jakarta for at least 6 months. I left all my tools in my old place, so there won’t be any progress for God knows when…but I’m not quiting this hobby, I just need some time till everything is settled. One thing I really love about my new place is that it is located near a hobby shop called “Peter and Partner” which is one of the biggest hobby shop in Indonesia..and I’m telling you man, the temptation to buy new kit is so hard when you live this close to a hobby shop..

So that’s all folks, thanks for following this WIP from the beginning😀 See you on the next post ^^

You can check out Morser ‘karl’ Gerat’s WIP right here😀

26 thoughts on “Complete>>1/35 Morser ‘karl’ Gerat

  1. Chag says:

    Do I see bits of dried grass on those treads? Damn, nice! Shame about the contest, though. But on the other hand, I’m sure your new job will be able to fund many other projects in the future. =)

    • h4mster says:

      yup, those dried grass was made from a used brushed😀 The reason I choose to not join the competition is exactly like what you are saying, it’ll be a fuel for my hobby😀

  2. chubbybots says:

    Heh to me this is already a winner haha! Congrats on the new job! But too bad it had to clash with your competition! Nevertheless you can always submit it again next time and I am sure you can come up with more master pieces next time ^^ Plus you now work next to a hobby shop haha…

  3. Gundam Guy says:

    Was there any doubts that you would do such a good job on this kit. The wait was wroth it.

    I a still a noob learning to paint those solder figures. Maybe when I start to seriously do one for a diorama I will come to seek your expertise.

    • h4mster says:

      Thanks😀
      I’m also still learning to paint those figures, just my luck that I found a book about figure painting just after I finished with this project😀

  4. divinelight says:

    so I’ll see this in Peter n Partner.
    I also will take part with my Wing Zero Custom, even though PnP is more into military..

    do you come too in Central Park where Hatsuyuki will be held?
    there’s UC Challenge organized by Whitebase there.

  5. rndm says:

    Looks great overall. I’d expect nothing less from you. ^^

    Hm, the figures, did you use blue tack to stick them onto the tank?
    I also think that maybe you can “dirty” the boots/shoes of the figures to make them look like they have been walking outside for a good while. I’m saying this because I feel like they are “too clean”. XP (I could be mistaken though since the legs are a bit small to see clearly. ^^;)

    • h4mster says:

      Yup, I use blue tack to stick them…I didn’t use glue because it was still temporary, all the figures and tank still need to be shipped to my new place. And I plan to put some more dirt too once I get there, because it is still “too clean”😀 just like you said

  6. rockleelotus says:

    my goodness, impressive show of skill yet again h4mster!😀 i could stare at your kits for hours, just love how you are able to paint each armor to be so realistic. and i know you told me before that those grass are actually bristles from a brush, but i am still fooled every time lol

    great to hear you got a job already! that is really important. your prolly settle in the new place by now, man living next to a hobby shop must be bitter sweet😛 looking forward to your next project ^_^

  7. heathorn says:

    congrats on your job hamster!
    and this tank model is another masterpiece from master h4mster😀

    painting military model is really different from painting mobile suits. It has to be ‘real’, thumbs up for you bro!

    oh, and the grass is made of brush?? I am completely fooled😄

Leave a Reply

