in progress>>morser ‘karl’ gerat>>Part 4

Hi all😀

I’ve abandon this blog for a while due to the hectic activity in the past few days. But I’m back now with a little update😀

Here’s how the Morser looks like now:

The Morser ‘Karl” Gerat is still in its weathering process. For me, weathering is the most fun stage, but also the one taking much time. I usually have three main steps in my weathering process. There is Filtering, Fading, and Washing. Filtering is used to change the overall tone of the color. For example, if you want a blueish gray color, then you have to paint the tank in gray as a base color, and filter it with blue color. Just mix a little bit blue paint with lots of thinner, brush it evenly at the tank, and you’re done😀.  But I skip this step since I don’t have the appropriate blue color😀

So, move on to fading. Fading is used to enrich to tone of the color. First, prepare the colors😀 I use white, yellow, blue, and red oil paint for this

and paint some dots on the tank surface.

and then dip a paint brush into a white spirit (some sort of thinner) and wipe those dots in a one directed brush stroke. This is also why I use oil paints. Oil paints are slow curing and make this process possible. I apply all over the tank, and here’s one of the result (I only able to capture one result, the others are blurry T.T ):

Next, washing. Basically the same with washing technique used by gunpla modeler on panel lines, it’s just that I apply it more brutally in military kits :D  Washing is used to brings out the details of the tank.

For the track, I wash it using Burnt Sienna color to make it look rusty:

Here’s the result after the track is being washed and drybrushed with flat black:

As for the body, I wash it with a mix of Raw Umber and Burnt Umber for the first wash. And then followed by Lamp Black on the panel lines and corners. Here’s the result:

6 thoughts on “in progress>>morser ‘karl’ gerat>>Part 4

  1. chubbybots says:

    Timely post mate😀 I have 2 Zeon units that will fit the bill for such nice weathering techniques! I just tip toed a bit into weather and I must say, adding that bit of rea1lism in your model kit makes a world of difference! I can understand why its so addictive for you. But just a quick question, do you gloss coat the entire kit first prior to weathering?

    • h4mster says:

      Hi Chubbs, how are you doin’?
      Yeah, I gloss coat (with acrylic based gloss coat) the entire kit first before weathering. It is to protect the base color, so when my weathering is all messed up (using oil paints), I can get rid of it without damaging the base color😀
      Looking forward to see your Zeon units😀

  2. Chag says:

    Oh wow, the tracks turned out really well! I rather like the name you gave it as well, as the stature of a God is awfully befitting of this monster. =)

Leave a Reply

