in progress>>Morser ‘karl’ Gerat>>Part 3

Yesterday, I have finished the paint job for Morser. Even though this tank only consist of one color (mono-camo), the paint itself consist of three different colors. I use German Grey, Dark Grey, and Light Grey.

Because of the tank’s size, I can’t find a big enough background for it😀

A mono-camo tank are not actually monotone. They are made from several shade of color. I use German Grey for the darkest color (also function as pre-shade), then followed by Dark Grey as the base color, and Light Gray for highlight and make the paint looks more worn out.  I mix the Light Gray color with more thinner than usual because I want to achieve a thin result on the highlight (also prevent me from overdoing it). This various tone of color is still gonna be added with filtering and fading effect later on .

14 thoughts on “in progress>>Morser ‘karl’ Gerat>>Part 3

  1. bd77 says:

    *salutes*
    That thing must have been huge (is that a piece drawing block you used?).
    The tanks’ texture looks like aged and tarnished metal, but I suspect that you’ll be adding other textures and diorama out of it, right? =D

    p.s. going to paint the officer figure soon?🙂

    • h4mster says:

      Yup, this is the big gun! I’m gonna start on the figures and base after the tank is finished😀 For the background, I use a paper that is bigger than drawing block

  2. Harry D. Landis III says:

    What a great paint job!!! I am currently working on the rail mounted version of this model by Trumpeter. Could I obtain a similar result by using the colors direct from a spray can as I do not use a spray gun???Any help would be most appreciated,
    Harry Landis

    • h4mster says:

      Thanks,
      I think the result could be similar. As long as you apply the same weathering technique. The end result of this scale model is mostly achieved by what weathering technique that is being used.

Leave a Reply

