Professional Photography Session :)

Hello all😀 I’m finally back in blogging. After I pass the exam, I took a three days vacation. Every engine needs a break in the end right? Now I’m back and all charged up (not as charged as Saber Lion with the coffee effect though LoL)

Anyway, do you remember my articles about toy photography? A couple of days ago, I bring the Stug III, Drossel, and Yotsuba to experience a professional photography session.

The photographer is Aditya Rakhman, the same guy who take photographs in the toy photography article. As times goes on since our first joint cooperation, he is just getting better and better, skill wise and equipment wise😀

Here’s the gear in doing this photoshoot: a Canon EOS 500D Camera with battery grip, mounted in an EF 135mm f/2L USM Lens, with a 580EX II speedlite firing. We collaborated in determining what kind of pose should be done by Drossel, and from what angle the shot should be taken. We spent about an hour but the result are very satisfying😀

The photo session was conducted in his studio, and it’s not a mini studio like what I usually use in my house LoL. Aditya Rakhman and some of his comrades are currently starting a photography company called Aperture Image Factory, doing various range of photography from human, products, and events (hmm, I wonder if I could get some discount when I’m getting married LoL). If it happens that you need their service, feel free to contact them, all I can tell you is that they are a bunch of people that are fun to work with😀

hmm, aren’t we missing someone?? ow, where is Yotsuba? I remember her lending a hat for drossel, but where on earth is…

Wuuutt?? since when does she gets there? crashing down without manner as always -__-“

oh well, she is unbeatable after all…Drossel steps out of the frame and we got one last shot just for Yotsuba😀

Cheers😀

35 thoughts on “Professional Photography Session :)

    • h4mster says:

      yup, that’s an aluminum foil to create the flashy background😀
      an EOS 500d is basically out of my reach, I aim for a cheaper one if I’m gonna get a DSLR🙂

      • B-Mecha says:

        Camera is a long term investment, so get one with good feature and can last for years. Sometimes cheaper means sacrifice certain important features🙂. And btw, lens play a more important role for the photo quality.

  1. rockleelotus says:

    a well deserved vacation! Lol i would like to see someone as charged up as Saber Lion in real life!

    i remember that article, the photos were fantastic. these shots are very different(because its now in his studio?) but there is a lot more work with light and shadows. props to him, he is skilled ^^ love the idea for using aluminum foil as a backdrop, very creative! who did the posing for Drossel?

    Robo Yotsuba! we have a contender to go against Danbo XDDD

    • h4mster says:

      I really forgot who did which pose for Drossel :p we both throw our ideas on this one. But one thing for sure, I am the one that moves Drossel’s joint since I have smaller finger Lol Therefore we avoid injuries that may affect her😀

  2. LEon says:

    erh… I have a 500D with me but I am still brushing up my photography skills. I am trying to set up my studio to take toys but too inexperience. LOL

  3. bd77 says:

    Nice shots… The Stug looks mean in the dark shots. While Drossel and Yotsuba’s selective depth of field shots are great.😀

    The advantages of a DSLR…

  4. B-Mecha says:

    Aluminium foil with f2… must try. The photos look so good! I always wanted to create different effects for background but don’t know how. Nice sharing!

  5. Lylibellule says:

    Well deserved vacations, it does always some good.
    Never i could have believed that a simple aluminum sheet could provide a result like this! I have to try this very soon.
    And so, i looooove how Drossel poses! So Nice!

  6. chubbybots says:

    Fwah fantastic post man😀 Thought it was an outdoor photoshoot!So top down lighting with aluminium foil as background. Professional is really professional!! Shutterbug level up today😀

    I love the second pic!! Looks like your stug is going for night ops!! Really compliments your modeling skill.

  7. mikha_v says:

    Oh no, DSLR make me jealous even though I am not a photographer😆 Because sometimes, I need its ability to take a picture in very low light condition.

    So, will the tug III, Drossel, and Yotsuba have fight? I would bet for Drossel because she is beautiful😆

  8. h4mster says:

    I don’t really know how to reply the comments, because the shots are not taken by me😀 but if my friend see this, I know that he would say “thank you” to all of you😀
    And yes, having my collection and scale model being photographed in such a nice way like these really makes me feel very much appreciated😀

    @MaftyNavue
    It shows that creativity knows no boundaries right? I also need to learn a lot both in scale modeling and taking good photos to present my work😀

    @lylibellule
    It’s just too bad that Yotsuba doesn’t have the stability like what Drossel has…it takes a pretty long time to make Yotsuba stand like that (that explain why there is only one pose for her :lol:)

    @Chubbybots
    that is also my favorite😀 that picture was intended to became a banner in my “entry list” page

    @mikha
    I don’t know about that…since Yotsuba has the upper hand when it comes to brute force LoL

  9. mikiwank says:

    It’s so good to make photography with great camera Eos 500D. Although not a professional camera that is certainly good material for mid-range mid-professional.

  10. heathorn says:

    that’s some awesome shots!
    nice to have a refreshing activities after tired with study😀

    Aditya Rahman…, I have a friend with the same name, residing in Bandung, my univ friend, also into professional photography. Maybe it’s him?!

  11. adit says:

    I was very lucky to have absolutely spiffing items from h4mster. Hardly did anything, it just so happens I was the guy who pushed the shutter button🙂 simplest setups are always best, great post too!

Leave a Reply

