Completed>>Sturmgeschutz III Ausf. B

Finally, the Sturmgeschutz III Ausf. B (or Stug III for short) is done ^^

This project was started at September 9 of last year. Huff, it’s 4 month already, pretty slow build if I must say. But overall, it was a really fun experience😀 Here’s a little story about  Stug III

The History

Since its production into the service, “artillery” was, and still is, a pure support weapon. With all the different types of guns and caliber, artillery has devoted itself in providing supports for the ground troops. In order to improve the support given by the artillery, the Nazi’s fieldmarshall von Manstein demand a highly mobile artillery that is able to provide more active and immediate support for the infantry. This concept is called “sturmartillerie” or assault artillery.

That concept is applied in reality and there you have it, an armored vehicle equipped with a 7.5 cm StuK 37. A gun that met all expectation regarding range and impact in the aim (at that time). This vehicle is named Sturmgeschutz III (assault gun III). So, this vehicle is not actually a Tank, it is more suitable to be called an assault gun. It was assigned with the infantry division instead of the tank division.

As times goes by, The Stug III has developed into several variation, each with better performance in the battlefield. Till May 1940, thirty vehicles were made. The high mobility, advanced weapon and radio system, and low cost production makes it become the perfect tool of destruction in WWII

The Build

I always proud of every kit that I build, regardless how the result is😀 There is this feeling of satisfaction when I have turned something like this:

into this:The process was pretty fun too ^^ I did not manage to build a diorama like what I have planned (since the figure composition is just weird). But the fact that I try some new technique is something special.

One of the new technique is the dusting process. In the previous work, I apply the dust through drybrushing. This time, I try something faster and efficient, which is through airbrushing and pigment ink. I also do a simple scratch build for the rear railing and also goes DIY with the equipment on the Stug.

The spare wheels and spare tracks is also something I made myself (based on a real Stug references of  course)

This is also my first time using Mr. Mark Setter for the decals, and it really makes the decals blend nicely with the surface of the kit ^^

For me, every build is a learning experience. And learning by doing is the most effective way😀

And finally, these are the other photos of the Stug:

Thanks for all your supports and comments in the WIP. Knowing that you will watch how this kit turns out is one thing that really motivates me to do my best😀

The progress of Stug:

In Progress>>Sd.Kfz. 142 ‘Sturmgeschutz III Ausf.B’>>The Concept

In Progress>>Stug III>>Racks and Spare Tracks

In Progress>>1/35 Stug III>>Spare Wheels and Details

In Progress>>Stug III>>the Stug’s Load

In Progress>>Stug III>>The Paint

In Progress>>Stug III>>Decal & Pre-dusting

In Progress>>Stug III>>Chipping

28 thoughts on “Completed>>Sturmgeschutz III Ausf. B

  1. rockleelotus says:

    my goodness seeing the before and after again is incredible! the details on the dirt and grime are too awesome, you even added track marks to the ground😀 very skilled work my friend, another piece to be proud of!

    • h4mster says:

      Thanks man😀
      I browse around Danbo folder and find a picture of him with the unfinished Stug, I myself feels that this tank have coma a long way since it still need Danbo to push it😀

      The track marks is also something new😀 I forgot to make it in my previous work, and got myself a lot of criticism because of it LoL

  2. chubbybots says:

    Now all you need is to open the hatch and let Danbo sit in it😀 But scale wise it won’t match I think haha!! Loved the work man plus with such a detailed Wip that people can learn from!

    I love the layout of your this post! Especially linking all the past WIP in one page is much easier. I’ll can sure use that for my own completed works next time.

    • h4mster says:

      Thanks😀

      We would need to scratch build a whole tank for Danbo to sit in, with a cardbox color scheme too LoL

      For the layout, it’s not originally my idea, It was inspired by a modeler named FichtenFoo, he usually post his finished work that way (I don’t know if he still is though..). But yes, the idea was easy navigation for all the readers including myself😀

    • h4mster says:

      Thanks, glad you like it😀
      At first, I planned to use soldiers for a the diorama, but unfortunately I can’t find any figure that match with the scene..

  3. Jacques says:

    Very impressive work there. I swear the macro shots of the tank could have been easily passed off as a real one. And I really liked the way the weathering was done. Awesome!

  4. heathorn says:

    Finally I can see the finished product. The before and after pic really shows how you are passionate about this hobby bro!!
    I don’t understand military kits, all I can say is your tank is superb and looks very REAL. :beer:

  5. Arein says:

    Goddamn.. This has got to be one of the better kits that I’ve seen painted, weathered and made a diorama of.

    I’m pretty amazed.. o__0

Leave a Reply

