PhotoQuest 2: Kulonprogo

This is the second PhotoQuest πŸ˜€

Here’s a little background of the journey. It was conducted last year, during a field study for my college. In this field study, I was assigned for a month in an area located 60 kilometers from my town. It was in a area called “Kulonprogo” (translated as “west of Progo river” in English :D).

The place was quite remote, mountainous, and far from the reach of modernization. I won’t go details about the assignment because the assignment sucks TT.Β  The village was nice though, the air is so fresh and the scenery is breathtaking πŸ˜€

These are the example:

So I bring one of my comrade to accompany me there. Thinking that he could help me kill some time πŸ˜€

I decided to bring minie danbo because he’s the smallest and easy to carry around πŸ˜€

Danbo just loves colorful things ^^

In the process, Danbo finds a more colorful flower. It’s located in a higher plant. He gives a shot to get it, and what happened next is…

He got stuck in the tree >.<

manage to get himself down in an hour, and so he moves on with the journey πŸ˜€

I could still find a forest there. Pretty nice at noon, but it gets so scary at night (the cold weather really adds the chill :D). Danbo went to the forest at that day, and he lost his way until it almost dark >.<

But in the end, he returned safely ^^

The next morning, I found a very huge rice field located near the village

so that’s a wrap for the second PhotoQuest πŸ˜€

28 thoughts on “PhotoQuest 2: Kulonprogo

  1. chubbybots says:

    Ah figure outdoor photography can be so fun ^^ Better pack my ugly doll with me on my next trip haha!!

    Keep the photos coming man πŸ˜€ Love the shots and of course Danbo ^^

    • h4mster says:

      Thanks ^^
      it is indeed fun πŸ˜€ you don’t have to get yourself busy adjusting the light when you’re outdoor LoL. Natural lights are always the best πŸ˜€

  2. MaftyNavue says:

    Wow.. nice.. did you try wander in the forest? I really want to know where is KulonProgo? (it’s in mountain right?)
    the best mountain that I ever go is at Bromo when the sunset (people tends to go there at the sunrise, but at sunset the view is beautiful too)

    • h4mster says:

      Kulonprogo is region located in the western area of Daerah Istimewa Yogyakarta. Not all of Kulonprogo are mountain area…only some part of it that happen to be a mountain area.It included in the Pegunungan Semeru πŸ˜€ a nice place, but apparently our government still can’t see it as a valuable tourism object, so it kinda being left behind…

      I always wanna go to Bromo! It’s just that I can’t find the right time to take a vacation there T.T

      • MaftyNavue says:

        Well, I think that’s really Indonesia problems..
        Yeah actually Indonesia really have a lot of beautiful places..
        and don’t forget about the culinary trip too.. ^_^

      • MaftyNavue says:

        Hahaha.. you’re not alone.. Actually I too really want to make a culinary trip, I have some old materials maybe we can start to publish it? Anyone here want to join to post culinary trip at their blog?

  3. heathorn says:

    Wah, pemandangan indah!!
    I love the sengkedan, farmers are the best architects!

    Talk about going to places with great scenery, I only went to tangkuban perahu and pantai parai. Really want to visit more of these places.

    And luckily danbo found his way home, otherwise I’d go to kulonprogo and kidnap him πŸ˜€

    • h4mster says:

      haha, makasih bro πŸ˜€
      hmm, I haven’t done any photoshoot in the beach…beach is always nice for this kinda thing πŸ˜€

      If you manage to kidnap Danbo, then the next thing that’s gonna happen is me, re-kidnapping him from your house LoL

  4. rockleelotus says:

    your outdoor dando pics are always the BEST!! ^^ what course required you to travel to remote area? o.O the scenery is nice though, looks very relaxing and open. really love the shot of the clouds.

    glad you both returned safetly lol …oh did you get some free rice from the rice field? πŸ˜›

    • h4mster says:

      I went there using motorcycle ^^, the road is really dangerous though T.T
      We don’t get free rice from the rice field…apparently it’s not harvesting time at that moment πŸ˜€

    • h4mster says:

      The food in kulonprogo (especially in the place where I’m staying) is not that special…it’s typical indonesian everyday food, so I guess that’s why I don’t take pictures of the food LoL
      But thanks to MaftyNavue comments in this post, I’ll probably gonna di some culinary adventures πŸ˜€

  5. lylibellule says:

    you found a new fan and a new reader.
    not only i love yotsuba but i’m also totally in love of Danbo πŸ™‚
    I take a tour of all posts containing several photos of him. You made magnificent ones! I liiiiiiike it!

    Landscape photo when you see several clouds is superb!

Leave a comment