tutorial>>Chipping

I’ve just finished on the paint chipping process in my tank. During my work, I’ve been able to make some documentation of the chipping method that I use.

To begin my explanation, we have to understand what chipping is. Chipping is a method to replicate the effect of a chipped paint.

chipped paint on the table

It usually appears in the corners of a surface, in a place that is easily scratched, or, if you are building tanks, it usually appears in places where the crew passes (crew hatch, engine hatch, etc) and places that are damaged by foreign objects (rocks, bullets, asteroids :D)

To do this, there are a lot of method. You can do it with a brush, masking sol, hairspray technique,or even the salt technique. For now, I will only try to explain the brushing method😀

I use Vandyke Brown from Winsor & Newton.

Winsor & Newton Oil Color

Before I apply the paint, I spray the surface with a gloss top coat. I choose an oil paint because it is easier to erase. I have the tendency to overdone things like this, so my best bet is for something with easy recovery. Oil paint takes a really long time to dry. If I make any mistake in the process, I could easily wipe the paint off using a lighter fluid

Zippo Lighter Fluid

Just pour the fluid onto a cotton bud, and wipe off the unwanted chipped paints. This is also the reason why a gloss topcoat is necessary. The glossy surface will makes it easier to erase the paint and prevent us from also wiping off the base color.

Now for the brush. I choose a not so smooth brush (it just feels more comfortable that way :D). This is a brush that is used to paint walls. It’s cheap, and ever lasting. You don’t need all of the brush, so just cut some of it and stick it with a glue tack.

put some paint on it

and randomly put the “chipping dots” to the surface

The brown dots are the result. I use brown because the tank I’m working on have a rusty steel chipped paint😀

This could also be done using a sponge. Just cut the sponge into a litlle pieces

and do the exact same methode like the previous brush

I don’t really prefer the sponge since it creates quite a random results. Altough it could be erased, my best choice is the brush😀

If you wanna make a big chipped paints, you could also makes it using a 0000 size brush

it’s small enough, so you can paint your chipped paint, with your own design and size. In real life, a big chipped paint usually have a light version of the base color just around the chipped paint. So the base color are worn out first, and then eventually the whole paint will be ripped off or rusted.

notice the lighter gray area around the chipped paint? Now that’s the stug, the chipped paint is still too much and I haven’t wipe off the unwanted chipped paints when I took those photos😀

So that is all about it. This is just one method of chipping,  and in my opinion, this is the easiest way. I’ll explain about the other method once I have tried them😀

Next post is gonna be about my Stug, and I hope you’ll find this post usefull😀

22 thoughts on “tutorial>>Chipping

  1. rockleelotus says:

    very cool! the paint chipping effect is one that i love and have been trying to create with my current supplies. after reading this im going to give some of your ideas a try, cutting bits of cheap big brush = genius! great write up😀

  2. chubbybots says:

    Sweet tutorial man😀 Maritan will love this on her own tank (if I ever get one haha^^)

    The DIY brush is a very nice tip. For military modeling looks like you have to have a lot of thought behind the weathering. Need to decide things like more chipping at places where the hatches open, the steps etc. Not easy to do but hats off to you for making such a complex step easier to comprehend!😀 Will give this a shot next time on my zakus ^^ (perfect for such weathering effects!)

    • h4mster says:

      yeah, I also want to try this on a Zaku or Tieren Ground Type, I think it’s gonna look sweet😀
      Thanks man, I learn most of the realistic atmosphere in military modeling from a master (yup, I don’t come to this point by myself, hihi) I’ll post some of this jedi master’s amazing work sometimes😀

  3. heathorn says:

    Nice explanation bro. Military kits are interesting! Have to pay attention to so many details.
    I ever read about using drybrush method, maybe that’s for gunpla😀

    • h4mster says:

      drybrush could also be used for chipping, but it will create a totally different pattern. For now, I usually use drybrushing to add dust effect in my tank😀

  4. dwinandabp says:

    mantab nih tutorialnya…
    proses yg sampe skrg belum pernah saya lakuin karena nggak ngerti caranya
    thumbs up!!

Leave a Reply

