In Progress>>Stug III>>Decal & Pre-dusting

Hello,

Not much update on this build…I’ve been too busy with a bunch of more important work stuffs…but anyway, here’s a small updates😀

The picture above is a step called “Pre-dusting”. Basically, I wanna create a dusty war machine for this one. Dust is best created using a pastel ink/pigment ink (Tamiya Weathering Master for example). Since the base color of the tank is gray, pre-dusting it with a brown color is important (I use Tamiya Flat Earth for the brown). Why it is important? it’s to cover the gray area using less pigment ink. Pigment ink is a powder, so we’re gonna need a lot of pigment ink if we wanna cover the gray area without a pre-dusting it. Since pigment ink is hard to find and expensive (at least here), I wanna use it as efficient as possible.

I’ve already paint all the tools in the tank, as well as the load carried by the tank

I use Tamiya Buff to paint the wooden handle for the tools, Tamiya Brown to paint the wooden box, and Tamiya Olive Green to paint the sheet covering the box.

Next, is the decal

This is my first time using “Mr. Mark Setter” before applying the decals. Mr. Mark Setter function like a glue for decals. The good thing about using it is that it makes the decals blend nicely to the surface (making it looks like paint if applied correctly :D). The bad thing is that once you placed it, then there’s no way to move it..

Well, that’s all about the current update😀

I’m planning to make tutorial articles. Simply wanna teach myself on how to deliver a good and understandable  tutorial and share the things I’ve learned. Stay tuned😀

16 thoughts on “In Progress>>Stug III>>Decal & Pre-dusting

  1. chubbybots says:

    Haha nice wip mate😀 this is the first time I hear of the term dusting ^^ Something new for me today😀 By the way I think a nice tutorial will be on remove decal edges or how to use that mark setter ^^. Or better yet, a basic intro into airbrushing for those who want to take the leap!!

    • h4mster says:

      Thanks😀
      Your wish is my command😀 haha. I got a free time until Monday basically, I’m gonna start to gather the photos for the tutorial soon😀

  2. rockleelotus says:

    ahhh-mazingg! thats a lot of work to make dust effect, very efficient process ^^ loving the colors and mark setter sound like something i can use on my Wing Zero, does it have any damaging/melting effect on the surface when applied? the decals are nicely blended there.

    looking forward to seeing your tutorials, im ready to learn how a pro does it!! ^_^b

    • h4mster says:

      It seems that the Mark Setter doesn’t have any melting effect. But if you already brushed the mark setter on to the painted surface, then ends up not applying the decal on the brushed area, the surface would turn white (real live experience here LOL). So to avoid that, I brush the mark setter on to the decal first instead of to the surface😀

  3. heathorn says:

    Yay, h4mster is going to make tutorials!😀
    For the dust effect, so you did it with the tamiya weathering set? The one like cosmetic container?

    You are really good at military kits bro, building a gunpla should be easier right?

    • h4mster says:

      I forgot to mention it, the pre-dusting is done using an airbrush😀, thanks for reminding me bro😀

      I think between building military kits and gunpla are very different, both has its own challenges😀
      Military kits tend to be more weathered, dusty, and dirty in order to achieve the realistic effect. Our creativity is tested by the fact that the tank and the scene should look real. In gundam, being as creative as you can be is the main challenge, there’s no border in doing it, you can do it clean, battle damaged, full modification, etc. Sounds easier since it looks like there is no rule, but its pretty hard for me😀

      But both are definitely fun, that’s for sure

      • h4mster says:

        I think it’s all about using the proper tools corretly, something that everyone could learn😀 This hobby is really fun you know:D

Leave a Reply

