PhotoQuest 1: Boko Temple

Exam has finally over ^^ It’s blogging time. I have changed the theme of my blog. I’m getting bored with the previous one and besides, this theme has a custom header widget ^^ (I’m trying to design a banner for my blog ). I’ve also done some minor updates on Sazabi and Stug III but a friend is borrowing my camera, so no updates on that one. Therefore, I decide to post something else

Time for some new type of article in Hobby Heaven😀. It’s called “PhotoQuest”. This is where I do some quest around Indonesia to take pictures of my toys (looking forward for a quest all around the world though :D).

So first up is an adventure of 7-11 Danbo and me in Boko Temple

DSCF6855

The trip to Boko Temple was conducted in August. Boko Temple is a Hindu’s temple, located in a  Sleman Region,  in the Yogyakarta Province. It’s about an hour drive from my house😀

DSCF6854

On the way to the temple

I went there with my girlfriend. Her friends are actually the one organizing this trip. I just come along since I think it’ll be tons of fun. And I also think that Danbo need some fresh air:D

DSCF6860

The temple is located up the hill, and just like any sites located in high ground, it provides an outstanding view of the world below. Nice spot to watch a sunset too😀. The temple is huge (or used to be huge) judging from the ruins scattered all around the area.

DSCF6869

danbo didn't believe that the temple is huge, so she decided to explore the temple

This is the first time I took an outdoor shot of my toys. And the place was pretty crowded >.< Some people are starring at me with the “what the hell is this guy doing?” looks on their face, haha.

Have you ever experience the same thing when taking an outdoor photos?

DSCF6862gg

food scavenging

I took the shots with my Fujifilm FinePix E510, a pocket digital camera which works pretty well in a sunny day.

DSCF6872

try to hug the lion😀

There are a lot of relief like the picture above. A work of art if I might say…I wonder what will happened if those artists from the ancient times are beingintroduced to  gunplas…

DSCF6884

"what's this trash doing here?"

If I recall my memories right, the closest trash can is located so far away…

DSCF6888

on the top of the temple

There’s actually a special spot providedto watch a clearer view of the scenery. But it’s already getting darker when we go to that particular area. So, there’s no picture for that one😀

That is the end of my first journey. The stupid thing is that I forgat to take picture showing the whole temple –” or the beautifull sunset😆 Well, I could always go back there to get more pictures😀

22 thoughts on “PhotoQuest 1: Boko Temple

  1. chubbybots says:

    Awesome photos dude! Wish I can take my gunpla or ugly dolls to such a location to take photos! Hmm if we could go back in time and introduce them Gunpla you would have the 1/1 scale odabida Gundam right in the middle of the temple or probably Chars Zaku staring at your Danbox😀 Look forward to your Photoquest2.

    • h4mster says:

      Yeah,and we will see artifacts such as beam saber or thruster buried underground😀

      the next photoquest is in progress, will be released soon (I hope :lol:)

      glad that you like it!

  2. rockleelotus says:

    wow your really good at photography and composition! i loved these shots with danbo lol i havent done any outdoor shoots yet, i dont like getting weird looks when im doing nothing let alone getting them while snapping pics of figures ^^;;;

    congrats on getting past your exams and i like the new layout too, getting bored with mine also maybe time for a change soon😄

    • h4mster says:

      Thanks
      I understand that people would find it weird for an adult to take pictures of toys (and I pull some crazy move while doing it too, like lying on the ground and such :D). I don’t like it either, but then they’re just people who didn’t understand the fun of it, so I guess it’s normal, haha, and I went there mentally prepared for the worst also –”

      I just realized that we can’t change the fonts for our wordpress blog…or maybe there is a way which I’m not aware of??

  3. bd77 says:

    Nice shots. I like the shots 6869, 6872 and 6884. They show the scale comparisons nicely (the massiveness of the buildings to the Danbo).

    @Rocklee- You’re not only one who’d be getting those reactions. Most folks here will go: “Look at that childish man, playing with his doll/toy and taking pictures of it. Eww…”
    Whuuut? -_-;

    • h4mster says:

      Thanks!
      I actually took a lot of pictures there, but I only post the best of it. This composition is more of a 70% luck, haha! still need to learn about composition so I could take less picture with better quality😀

  4. chubbybots says:

    @bd77 I got those weird looks while assembling my gunplas at macdonalds. Then the occasional kid coming up to me where did you get that I want! lol. I’ll just let them stare all they want ^^ (cause my skin is literally thick :D)

    • bd77 says:

      I don’t being thick-skinned when doing Gunplas (more like being PROUD of it), but it comes to Yoko… I just… well… Yoko = small feminine figure, me = big guy who is holding/fiddling her. So.. >_>

      I balk the sheer though of it…

  5. h4mster says:

    I never assemble a scale model in public area, especially where there are kids running around, They could become a little bit…well…hostile when they see cool robots😀

      • chubbybots says:

        @ Bd77 I’ll be seeing 8 tentacles sprouting out if that happens haha!

        @ Hamster For wordpress blogs I also haven’t been able to change the fonts too….there is this css upgrade thing but you have to pay for it. Other than changing that I am not too sure. Have you tried copying and pasting direct from words? Maybe that might do the trick?

Leave a Reply

