Toy Photography

Some days ago, I asked my friend, Aditya Rakhman, to visit my studio (yeah! studio!…sounds pro, haha :P). He happens to be a photographer who shares a common interest with me, toys :D! After some hour of photo-session using his Canon EOS 500D (if I’m not mistaken), here’s some of his shot:

IMG_8320

I always think that photography could not be separated from my hobby. Yup, photography is not ‘the hobby’, but it gives a great support on how I do scale modeling and collecting toys. I’ve seen many examples of a good modified kit, but unfortunately, failed to meet the test of good publicity since the photos are poorly executed.  I really hope that it won’t happen to any of the kits I build. I’ve put great efforts on building my kits, so to take a good photos of them is kinda like how I awarded myself.

IMG_8343

I can’t pull this one out with my Fujifilm FinePix E510. Those DSLRs could really make the difference huh?

IMG_8339

Photography is not only about what gear that you possessed. An idiot who holds a very expensive camera would still produce a bad picture, because the camera don’t take pictures by itself. The person’s experience, knowledge, and passion (in this case for toys) is somehow very important in the outcome.

IMG_8370

A good quality photos would be better on exploiting the flaws of your build TT…more motivation to build a flawless one then😛

IMG_8306

I might invite him for some  of my next finished project😀

IMG_8360

I’ve crop his photos into a banner-size pictures and use it for my ‘Entry List‘ page.

IMG_8381

I must say that I’m very sattisfied with his shot! Nice angle, and lighting😀

IMG_8421
That’s me😀 cleaning real dust from my tanks…

For more of Aditya Rakhman’s Photoworks, feel free to checkout his cool deviantart page:

http://adityarakhman.deviantart.com/

14 thoughts on “Toy Photography

  1. rockleelotus says:

    incredible pictures! i honestly thought the first photo was real O_O photography does play an important role in representing the work created, and your work is amazing. i agree that good quality photos will exploit flaws… i will continue to take poor pictures😄

    you should definitely invite him again for you next photo session. lol cleaning up real dust, leave some dust for realistic effect? ^^;

    • h4mster says:

      Yeah! I really like the first photo because of the same reason as yours😀 You can still hide the flaws when taking good quality photos, and that is by not taking the pictures of the bad part😀 This is probably the reason why I don’t put many pictures in this post😆

      My kits are currently displayed without any cover…so it’s cleaning day once in a week T.T

  2. chubbybots says:

    Wow, the first one look so realistic with his photography! What a big difference! I always considered upgrading my camera for my hobby ^^. Yep you can mod and paint till kingdom come but a lousy photoshot will spoil the whole presentation!

    Interestingly I didn’t really like taking pictures till I started this hobby😛 If you see my earlier posts…way early they look like crap!

    • h4mster says:

      me too! Photography never crossed my mind before I start collecting toys! It’s kinda like a dilemma for me now. If I choose to upgrade my camera, it would mean a big budget cut for my main hobby, haha! Guess I’ll stick to invite my friend for now😀

      • HevnBoyz says:

        I 3rd that. photography was not really my thing and i don’t even like the looks of DSLR cameras, but after seeing such inspiring & awesome photos my comrades did with their toys and dlsr, i started to develop interest in photography… ^^

    • h4mster says:

      Yup! That’s the reason why I put it up as the first picture🙂
      Speaking of ‘Band of Brothers’, this series are really inspiring if you do military scale modeling! Well…it inspired me at least, haha

Leave a Reply

